John Hutchison isn’t just famous because he trained Charles Rennie Mackintosh, but because of his strong links and contribution to Paisley architecture.
Born in 6 Stow Street, Paisley in 1841, Hutchison was first noticed when, ahead of Queen Victoria’s visit to Paisley in 1888, he was commissioned to restore the grave of King Robert III. This is still in the Paisley Abbey to this day.
Some of his most iconic work include:
Spiersfield House, Paisley (1874) since been converted into a nursing home
Burnbank Free Church, Hamilton (1881)
West Free Church, Hamilton (1882) ( no images available in the archives)
River Street Factory, Glasgow (1885)
Craigmore UP Church, Rothesay (1889)
St Margaret’s House (1889) reopened in 1928 as a home for the elderly
Middlepark, Carriagehill (1891-92)
Shortroods School, Paisley (1897) (no images available in the archives)
Norwich Union Offices, 128 Hope Street/St Vincent Street, Glasgow (1898) his masterpiece
Abercorn School, Paisley (1900)
Premises for Loudon Brothers, Cadogan Street/West Campbell Street, Glasgow (1900) demolished late 20th century
Mission Hall for Sir William Dunn, Paisley (c.1900) since demolished and is now private property
Wylie Hill building, Springfield Court, Glasgow (1901) since demolished and a large modern glass Ted Baker store stands on the site now
Tenements and shops, Canal Street, Paisley (1903)
Remodelling of Wylie Hill warehouse, Glasgow (1904) (no images available in the archives)
Hutchison died of a cerebral haemorrhage on 24 May 1908 at Fairhill, Park Road, Paisley.
If you have any questions or comments about any of the properties featured in this post, let us know in the comments below.